Is a Trans Woman Also A Female?

A controversial, but very reasonable opinion.

⭐ Robert Jameson
6 min readOct 10, 2022
Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay

I’ve spoken out many times in support of trans rights and against the prejudice, discrimination and bigotry trans people are sometimes subjected to.

It’s a controversial opinion for which I get a considerable amount of abuse, but yes, I think women’s toilets and changing facilities should be open to all women — including trans women.

As you can imagine, there are some TERFs out there who really hate me for my pro-trans opinions. But I’m a principled person and an independent thinker. Unlike a lot of people, I don’t just pick a side and then restrict myself to saying only things that people on ‘my side’ of the debate are likely to agree with. I have opinions some trans activists would strongly disagree with, or even consider offensive. And one of these opinions concerns the question of whether trans women are female.

Sex and gender

Biological sex and gender identity are often now regarded as two different things.

If you want to refer to a person’s biological sex, you may say they are ‘male’ or ‘female.’

‘Woman’ or ‘man,’ on the other hand, are often now regarded as descriptions of your gender identity. (And a large selection of other gender identities are…

--

--

⭐ Robert Jameson

Tech Writer. Philosopher. Economist. Basic Income Advocate.